January Sunset Show

Aaron Cowan Photography

The 4th of January was my first photographic jaunt of the new year.  The weather seemed photogenic most of the day so I decided to drive around in the afternoon and stay out for sunset.  Unfortunately clouds stultified the sunlight as I went out but I could see a wide enough gap between cloud and horizon toward the west.  I continued driving a route I had many times before with little hope of sunlight breaking through the clouds.  I decided, despite the slight wind, to head up to the windmills north of Steptoe and await the sunset.  I was definitely rewarded and had about 15 minutes of exceptional light to capture from my high vantage point.  I kept a 400mm lens on to isolate the farmland as well as possible.  These two photos are my favorite.  (No filtration was used; I had to desaturate some colors since they were so…

View original post 2 more words

Leave a Reply

